Types of liver transplant

Home / Liver transplantation / Types of liver transplant

There are two types of liver transplantation:

Living donor: A portion of the liver from a healthy living person, who is a match to the recipient, is transplanted to a person in liver failure. The donor’s liver regenerates in a couple of months, as does the transplanted liver portion. Living donor transplants is an alternative to waiting for a deceased-donor liver.

Deceased donor: Every individual in end-stage liver failure is put on the transplant organ list. Based on one’s position on the transplant list, a liver from a deceased organ donor is made available. However, the ratio of organs available to persons registered is highly uneven, making living-donor liver transplantation the preferred option.

Related Posts

Eligibility Criteria

Not every patient with a liver condition requires a liver transplant. Many respond well to other forms of treatment like medication. In some cases, treating the overlying cause of the liver failure

Know More

Liver and liver failure

The liver is a vital organ in the body and the largest internal organ that performs many known and unknown essential functions of the body. It is the only organ in our body that has regenerative capabilities.

Know More